Just a quick hello

I’ve given it some thought, and I suppose that if you’re reading this you are most likely one of three things. A little curious, tremendously bored or a BCM110 student.

My name, (just like the blog says) is Mara. Google tells me that Mara means ‘bitter’ in Hebrew,  ‘grace’ in Hungarian, ‘of the sea’ in Gaelic and is also (apparently) the Slavic ‘goddess of death, winter and harvest’. Google also tells me that my parents didn’t really think it over.

I promise I’m not complaining. I’ve done well considering I am stuck with a name as ominous as suggesting to split up in a B-grade horror movie.

So why am I here?

Unlike most people enrolled in BCM110, this is not my first year. I’m one of those people. The sort of uni student who needed time and experience to realise that my interests were somewhere else entirely.

For me I’ve always adored telling stories. As I type this post, there are two short story drafts open on the screen waiting for me to get back to them. It’s a bit of a love of mine.

This will be my first year studying Communications and Media Studies and I already know that what I’m learning will excite, inspire and may be vaguely useful. I will be the first person to admit that changing your degree a year late is not always the most financially clever thing to do, but I’m happy.

Super pleased.

I’ve got to admit that this whole blogging experience is a new one for me. I’ve never been the sort of girl to keep a journal for longer than a couple of days, so regularly updating a blog for anyone to see is a little daunting.

Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

